ZOMBlog

It's Like if Puppies and Kittens Could Have Babies!

Plant!

My dad got this interesting catalog of Bonsai trees, and asked me if I’d like one as an early birthday present.  Never having had such a thing, I took him up on it.  It arrived today.  We were both a little curious as to how one ships a live plant, and so we were curious to see what arrived, if it was still alive, and so forth.  The catalog hinted at special packing methods to ensure its safe delivery.  They did not disappoint.  Behold!

IMG_0116

To the uneducated rabble among you, it might appear to be a simple cardboard box.  But it is SO MUCH MORE.  It is in fact…

IMG_0117

… a simple cardboard box, filled with packing peanuts.  Truly, technology that is beyond all human reckoning.

IMG_0118 IMG_0122 IMG_0119

Removal of the tree, as you can see, was a simple, cleanly process.  As an added bonus, I got to use my new snow shovel!

IMG_0123

The fully birthed tree, in its native habitat.  It looks great, and remarkably no worse for wear after being sealed in a box for days.  My dad is awesome.

July 10, 2009 - Posted by | Uncategorized

2 Comments »

  1. Fantastical! I believe the Smallones also have a bonsai.

    Glad to see you’re keeping up with journaling. LJ definitely seems to be going the way of ICQ, etc. I remember when ICQ was all the rage. Then everyone switched to MSN and AOL, so I had to get Trillian. And with cell phones, so many people switched to Verizon that it pretty much forced others to do the same to take advantage of the free V-V calls. Grumble as I might about these progressions, it’s interesting to think about how and why they occur.

    Comment by NewEdit | July 16, 2009 | Reply

  2. I know what you mean, it’s been fun to see the internet evolve. Not only do once-vital services like ICQ and AOL go the way of the dodo, but sometimes also you get this weird stratification. Danah Boyd did a study on how Myspace has essentially become an online ‘ghetto,’ where lower-class folk go there and upper-class folk use Facebook!

    Comment by aelfscine | July 16, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment